VA - James Brown's Original Funky Divas (1998) 2014

Размещено: 4-12-2014, 06:29 by hsrb2
Музыка: Funk, Jazz, R'n'B, Soul
VA - James Brown's Original Funky Divas (1998) 2014
Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: James Brown's Original Funky Divas
Year Of Release: (1998) 2014
Label: Universal Records
Genre: R&B, Funk, Soul
Quality: MP3 CBR 320 kbps
Tracks: 46
Total Time: 02:36:13
Total Size: 398 MB

01. James Brown & Bea Ford - You've Got the Power (Alternate Take) (02:44)
02. Nat Hendrix Band & Sugar Pie DeSanto - A Little Taste of Soul (02:21)
03. Yvonne Fair - I Found You (02:28)
04. Yvonne Fair - If I Knew (02:27)
05. Yvonne Fair & James Brown - You Can Make It if You Try (02:43)
06. Yvonne Fair - Straighten Up (02:36)
07. Yvonne Fair - Say Yeah Yeah (02:27)
08. Tammi Terrell - I Cried (02:47)
09. Tammi Terrell - If You Don't Think (01:55)
10. Anna King - If Somebody Told You (02:58)
11. Anna King - Make Up Your Mind (02:46)
12. Bobby Byrd & Anna King - Baby Baby Baby (02:36)
13. Elsie Mae - All of Me (03:16)
14. Elsie Mae - Whole Lot of Lovin' (02:20)
15. Elsie Mae - Do You Really Want to Rescue Me, Pt. 1 (02:36)
16. The Jewels & James Brown - This Is My Story (02:30)
17. Vicki Anderson - Wide Awake in a Dream (02:47)
18. Vicki Anderson - Baby, Don't You Know (03:03)
19. Marva Whitney - Unwind Yourself (Remix) (02:37)
20. Marva Whitney - I'm Tired, I'm Tired, I'm Tired (Things Better Change Before It's Too Late) (02:29)
21. Marva Whitney - What Do I Have to Do to Prove My Love to You (02:28)
22. James Brown & Marva Whitney - You Got to Have a Job (If You Don't Work - You Can't Eat) (04:14)
23. Marva Whitney - It's My Thing (You Can't Tell Me Who to Sock It To), Pts. 1 & 2 (04:01)
24. Marva Whitney - I Made a Mistake Because It's Only You, Pts. 1 & 2 (04:53)
25. Marva Whitney - Things Got to Get Better (Get Together) [Remix] (03:36)
26. Vicki Anderson - Answer to Mother Popcorn (I Got a Mother for You) (03:13)
27. Vicki Anderson - I Want to Be in the Land of Milk and Honey (02:56)
28. Vicki Anderson - The Message from the Soul Sisters, Pts. 1 & 2 (05:24)
29. Vicki Anderson - Super Good (Answer to Super Bad), Pts. 1 & 2 (05:34)
30. Vicki Anderson - I'm Too Tough for Mr. Big Stuff (Hot Pants) (03:26)
31. Vicki Anderson - Don't Throw Your Love in the Garbage Can (02:46)
32. Bobby Byrd & Vicki Anderson - You're Welcome, Stop on By (03:45)
33. Kay Robinson - The Lord Will Make a Way Somehow, Pts. 1 & 2 (05:14)
34. Relations & Shirley Jean Womack - People Make the World a Better Place (02:52)
35. Lyn Collins - Wheel of Life (03:04)
36. Lyn Collins - Think (About It) [Single Version] (03:24)
37. Lyn Collins - Me and My Baby Got a Good Thing Going (03:18)
38. Lyn Collins - Mama Feelgood (Previously Unreleased, Long Version) [Soundtrack/Black Caesar] (04:23)
39. Lyn Collins - Take Me Just As I Am (Previously Unreleased, Long Version) [Extended Version] (05:36)
40. Lyn Collins - Don't Make Me Over (03:50)
41. James Brown & Lyn Collins - What My Baby Needs Now Is a Little More Lovin' (Single Version) (02:56)
42. Lyn Collins - We Want to Parrty, Parrty, Parrty, Pts. 1 & 2 (04:26)
43. Lyn Collins - Rock Me Again and Again and Again and Again and Again and Again (6 Times) (03:27)
44. Lyn Collins - You Can't Love Me, If You Don't Respect Me (Promo-only Long Version) (05:33)
45. Lyn Collins - Put It On the Line (03:34)
46. Martha High & James Brown - Summertime (05:30)

Over the decades, James Brown collaborated with, and encouraged, some of funk's leading ladies. During the '60s and early '70s in particular, every Brown show featured a 15- or 20-minute break when he would leave the stage, turning it over to a young female singer who'd perform her own mini set -- an event that became a tradition and an important part of the revue. It is these women who are collected across this marvelous and historically potent two-disc set. The first disc (1960s) kicks off with Bea Ford's "You've Got the Power." A duet with Brown, it's a sweetly charged ballad with a sleepy tempo, and marks the only song the duo ever recorded, although Ford would stay with Brown for nearly a year after. From January 1962, Yvonne Fair's "I Found You," meanwhile, would be reworked by Brown himself in 1965 as "I Got You (I Feel Good)." Other '60s highlights include the 1964 Anna King/Bobby Byrd duet "Baby Baby Baby" and Fair's impassioned, powerful tribute to strong women doing what they have to do, "You Can Make It if You Try." The 1970s disc features long "sets" from Brown's most successful proteges, Vicki Anderson (who also makes an appearance on the '60s collection) and Lyn Collins, together consuming 16 of the 19 tracks. Standouts from Anderson's portion are the supremely funky "The Message From the Soul Sisters, Pts. 1-2," which features both outstanding horn arrangements and some elastic bass from Bootsy Collins, and the always appreciated classic "I'm Too Tough for Mr. Big Stuff (Hot Pants)." The Collins tracks collect many of her chart hits, including "Think (About It)" and "Mama Feelgood," but the most interesting inclusion is the long "disco version" of the girl-powered "You Can't Love Me, If You Don't Respect Me" -- previously only available on a promo. Rounding up the 1970s tracks are the traditional gospel of "The Lord Will Make a Way Somehow, Pts. 1-2," beautifully wrought by Kay Robinson, and Martha High's duet with Brown, "Summertime." This is a crucial collection of the original women who rock -- the soul and funk divas who paved the way.

Уважаемый посетитель, Вы зашли на сайт как незарегистрированный пользователь.
Мы рекомендуем Вам зарегистрироваться либо войти на сайт под своим именем.

Добавление комментария

Полужирный Наклонный текст Подчеркнутый текст Зачеркнутый текст | Выравнивание по левому краю По центру Выравнивание по правому краю | Вставка смайликов Выбор цвета | Скрытый текст Вставка цитаты Преобразовать выбранный текст из транслитерации в кириллицу Вставка спойлера
Введите код: *




Регистрация | Забыли пароль?